Segmental anatomy of the coronary arteries

Last revised by Joachim Feger on 14 Dec 2021

The segmental anatomy of the coronary arteries has been originally developed and published by the Council on Cardiovascular Surgery and the American Heart Association (AHA). It is widely used for the description of coronary findings in particular within the scope of coronary artery disease.

Coronary artery segments

The three coronary arteries are subdivided into different coronary segments. The original model features 15 segments 1

Additional segments used are the following branches 2-4

  • posterolateral branch (RPL) of the right coronary artery (16)
  • ramus intermedius artery (17)
  • posterolateral branch (LPL) of the circumflex artery (18)

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.