Sequential Organ Failure Assessment score

Last revised by Daniel J Bell on 3 Apr 2020

The Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (SOFA) score (originally called the Sepsis-related Organ Failure Assessment (SOFAscore) was developed as a clinical scoring system to provide an overview of where any critically ill patient was with regards to the sequence of organ system failure. It was not explicitly designed/intended to be a prognostic score, although later research has established that it can be used as such 1,2


Each of six organ systems is independently assigned a score of 1 to 4. The total SOFA score represents a summation of these six scores, with scores ranging 6 to 24, with sicker patients generally being assigned higher scores 1,2.

Organ systems

Depending on the value of each parameter, a score from 1-4 can be assigned for each organ system:

History and etymology

The European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) devised the sequential organ failure assessment score at a consensus meeting in October 1994 in Paris, France 1.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.