Singapore Society of Radiographers

Last revised by Daniel J Bell on 30 Aug 2022

The Singapore Society of Radiographers (SSR) is the professional body representing 1 diagnostic radiographers, radiation therapists, sonographers and nuclear medicine technologists in Singapore. The SSR works with government-level boards to maintain updated continuous professional development in the medical radiation sciences field.

Officially formed in 1958 2, the Association of Singapore Radiographers was initially established by FY Khoo, a senior radiologist, who then became the Association's first President.

With the sponsorship of the then Australasian Institute of Radiography (now called the Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy) and the British Society of Radiographers (now called the Society and College of Radiographers), the Association was provisionally accepted as a member of the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists (ISRRT) in 1965.

17 years after its advent, the Association was renamed the "Singapore Society of Radiographers" in 1975.

The SSR's current 3 (c. 2022) President is Denise Choong. Denise is also an ISRRT (International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists) representative.

The Society publishes an annual newsletter titled, Promontory 4, with content furnished by local students and SSR members.

The SSR awards 5 members for stellar contributions to the radiography profession in Singapore.

This medal is named in remembrance of the highly-regarded Kartigesu Vaithilingam PPA, principal of Singapore's first School of Radiography 2. Presented to members with a prolific professional record and sterling achievement, the awardee must have contributed extensively to the SSR and the radiographer profession both locally and internationally. In the history of the Society, only one individual has obtained this medal - Tyrone Goh.

This medal recognizes individuals who have demonstrated unwavering courage and dedication in serving Singaporeans in the face of adversity and threat. There have only been three recipients since the Society's formation - Chai Lee SeeJamie Delacion Xavier and Ramaelito Javier.

These medals are awarded frequently to members who have served 15, 10 and 5 or more years respectively in the SSR committee, in addition to contributing extensively to the profession.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.