Situs classification

Situs classification (plural: sitūs) or body situs can be a daunting topic, but it falls into three main groups:

  1. situs solitus: the normal configuration of thoracic and abdominal organs
  2. situs inversus: mirror image of the normal configuration
  3. situs ambiguus (heterotaxy): an intermediate configuration with duplication (isomerism)

Situs is best thought of as a spectrum with situs solitus and situs inversus at either end of the spectrum. Situs ambiguus, as the name suggests, falls somewhere between the two ends of the spectrum.

When situs solitus and situs inversus occur, the atrial situs always corresponds to the visceral situs. In situs ambiguus, the bronchial anatomy always corresponds to the atrial situs.

Article information

rID: 2053
Tag: stub, stub
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Body situs
  • Situs classification system
  • Situs anomalies

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Case 1: dextrocardia
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 2: situs inversus
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 3: situs ambiguous
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.