Radiopaedia Courses 25% Discount in response to COVID-19 ends on October 31 EXPLORE OUR COURSES


The skull consists of 22 bones, excluding the three ossicles of the ear. All of the bones of the skull, except for the mandible, are connected to each other by sutures (fibrous joints) and are thus immobile. These 21 bones form the cranium, and are further subdivided into:

Article information

rID: 69215
System: Head & Neck
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewers/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.