Revision 11 for 'Spinal anatomy'

All Revisions - View changeset

Spinal anatomy

Spinal anatomy encompasses the anatomy of all osseous and soft tissue structures of the spine, the spinal cord and it's supporting structures.

This anatomy section promotes the use of the Terminology Anatomica, the global standard for correct gross anatomical nomenclature. 


The spine is located in the midline posteriorly, extending from the base of the skull to natal cleft, supporting the head, shoulder girdle, rib cage, and attaching to the pelvis. 

It is composed of 24 vertebrae separated by intervertebral discs, with additional sacral and coccygeal segments which are usually but, variably, fused. The vertebrae are grouped together into groups based on similar osteology and regional relations; cervical spine (7 vertebrae), thoracic spine (12 vertebrae), and lumbar spine (5 vertebrae). The sacrum has five fused vertebral segments and the coccyx has a further 3 to 5 vertebral segments. 

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.