Stahl classification of Kienböck disease (historical)

Last revised by Andrea Molinari on 26 Feb 2024

The Ståhl classification of Kienböck disease was one of the first staging systems of Kienböck disease (osteonecrosis of the lunate).

It has been modified by Lichtman et al and is considered outdated for clinical practice.


This system divides the disease into five stages, and is for the radiographic changes: 

  • stage I: radiodense fracture

  • stage II: secondary resorption with the development of a rarefaction line

  • stage III: lunate sclerosis

  • stage IV: secondary fractures with fragmentation

  • stage V: perilunate arthrosis

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.