Streptococcus anginosus group

Last revised by Jeremy Jones on 20 Sep 2021

The Streptococcus anginosus group (also part of the Streptococcus milleri group) comprise a subgroup of viridans streptococci which are gram-positive, catalase-negative bacteria.

There are three distinct main streptococcal species and several subspecies:

  • S. anginosus: has two subspecies
    • S. anginosus subsp. anginosus
    • S. anginosus subsp. whileyi
  • S. intermedius
  • S. constellatus: three subspecies
    • S. constellatus subsp. constellatus
    • S. constellatus subsp. pharyngis
    • S. constellatus subsp. viborgensis

A characteristic of the S. anginosus group that sets them apart from other pathogenic streptococci such as S. pyogenes (group A Streptococcus) and S. agalactiae (group B Streptococcus) is their ability to cause abscesses.

They can infect various organ systems which include:

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.