Last revised by Francis Deng on 10 May 2022

The striatum, sometimes known as the neostriatum, is the part of the basal ganglia that includes the caudate nucleusputamen, and nucleus accumbens, but not globus pallidus.


Striatum and neostriatum are considered synonyms in the Terminologia Anatomica but are distinguished from corpus striatum 2. The latter includes the (neo)striatum and pallidum (paleostriatum), the main part of which is the globus pallidus.

Gross anatomy

The striatum is composed of two parts: dorsal striatum (striatum dorsale) and ventral striatum (striatum ventrale or corpus striatum ventrale) 2,3.

The dorsal striatum is composed of the caudate nucleus, putamen, and caudolenticular grey bridges (pontes grisei transcapsulares).

The ventral striatum is composed of the nucleus accumbens, as well as the olfactory tubercle 3,4.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.