Tabar 5-tier grading system

Dr Henry Knipe et al.

The Tabar 5-tier grading system is used to classify mammographic lesions. This should not be confused with the Tabar classification of parenchymal patterns in breast imaging. It is a separate but translatable system to the BI-RADS classification system (please note that Tabar grade 3 ≠ BI-RADS 3). 


  • grade 1: normal
  • grade 2: benign
  • grade 3: equivocal/indeterminate
  • grade 4: suspicious for malignancy
  • grade 5: mammographically malignant
Breast imaging and pathology

Article information

rID: 40398
System: Breast
Tag: cases, refs
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Tabar 5-tier grading scheme
  • Tabar 5-tier grading system in mammography

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.