Toast classification in acute ischemic stroke

The TOAST (trial of ORG 10172 in acute stroke treatment) classification denotes five sub types of ischaemic stroke.

  • large-artery atherosclerosis (embolus / thrombosis)*
  • cardioembolism (high-risk / medium-risk)*
  • small-vessel occlusion (lacune)*
  • stroke of other determined aetiology *
  • stroke of undetermined aetiology

It is thought to carry good inter observer agreement and predict prognosis, outcome, and management

Stroke and intracranial haemorrhage
Share article

Article information

rID: 13402
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Toast classification system in acute ischemic stroke

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.