Ultrasound frequencies

Last revised by Andrew Murphy on 31 Mar 2020

Ultrasound frequencies in diagnostic radiology range from 2 MHz to approximately 15 MHz. 

It is important to remember that higher frequencies of ultrasound have shorter wavelengths and are absorbed/attenuated more easily. Therefore, higher frequencies are not as penetrating. This explains why high frequencies are used for the superficial body structures and low frequencies are used for those that are deeper.

Medical ultrasound transducers contain more than one operating frequency. The following frequencies are a guide to frequencies typically used for ultrasound examination:

  • 2.5 MHz: deep abdomen, obstetric and gynecological imaging
  • 3.5 MHz: general abdomen, obstetric and gynecological imaging
  • 5.0 MHz: vascular, breast, pelvic imaging
  • 7.5 MHz: breast, thyroid
  • 10.0 MHz: breast, thyroid, superficial veins, superficial masses, musculoskeletal imaging.
  • 15.0 MHz: superficial structures, musculoskeletal imaging.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.