Last revised by Craig Hacking on 3 May 2023

The uvea (plural: uveas), also called the uveal layer or vascular tunic is the middle of the three layers that make up the eye. It is the pigmented layer and its main function is nutrition and gas exchange. It sits between the retina (innermost layer) and sclera

It is traditionally split up into three anatomical portions:

  • iris (anteriorly)

  • ciliary body (at the level of the lens)

  • choroid (surrounding the rest of the posterior chamber)

Related pathology

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: globe anatomy
    Drag here to reorder.