The uvea (plural: uveas), also called the uveal layer or vascular tunic is the middle of the three layers that make up the eye. It is the pigmented layer and its main function is nutrition and gas exchange. It sits between the retina (innermost layer) and sclera

It is traditionally split up into three anatomical portions:

Related pathology

Anatomy: Head and neck

Anatomy: Head and neck

Article information

rID: 10565
System: Head & Neck
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Uveas
  • Uveal layer
  • Uveal coat
  • Vascular tunic (globe)
  • Tunica vasculosa (globe)

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: globe anatomy
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.