White matter tracts

White matter tracts, also known as white matter fibres, are classified into three categories:

Projection tracts
Association tracts
  • tracts connecting different areas in the same hemisphere (also known as intrahemispheric tracts)
  • DTI tractography can identify the following tracts:
    • arcuate fasciculus
    • superior and inferior occipito-frontal fasciculi
    • cingulum, uncinate and inferior longitudinal bundle
Commissural tracts
  • tracts connecting the same cortical area in opposite hemispheres
  • corpus callosum (CC) is the main commissural tract

Share article

Article Information

rID: 22721
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • White matter fibers
  • white matter fibres

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and Figures

  • Drag
    Figure 1: association fibers
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.