WHO classification of prostate tumors

Last revised by Yuranga Weerakkody on 3 Sep 2023

The World Health Organization (WHO) classification of prostate tumors is a commonly used classification system for prostate tumors. The current version was published in 2016 as part of the  WHO Classification of Tumors of the Urinary System and Male Genital Organs 1,2 and replaces the previous classification from 2004:


Epithelial tumors
Glandular neoplasms
Squamous neoplasms
Neuroendocrine tumors
Mesenchymal tumors
Haematolymphoid tumors
  • diffuse large B-cell lymphoma

  • chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma

  • follicular lymphoma

  • mantle cell lymphoma

  • acute myeloid leukemia

  • B lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma

Miscellaneous tumors
  • cystadenoma

  • nephroblastoma

  • rhabdoid tumor

  • germ cell tumor

  • clear cell adenocarcinoma

  • melanoma

  • paraganglioma

  • neuroblastoma

Metastatic tumors
Tumor of the seminal vesicles
Epithelial tumors
Mixed epithelial and stromal tumors
Mesenchymal tumors
  • leiomyoma

  • schwannoma

  • mammary-type myofibroblastoma

  • gastrointestinal stromal tumor, NOS

  • leiomyosarcoma

  • angiosarcoma

  • liposarcoma

  • solitary fibrous tumor

  • hemangiopericytoma

Miscellaneous tumors
  • choriocarcinoma

  • seminoma

  • well-differentiated neuroendocrine tumor/carcinoid tumor

  • lymphomas

  • Ewing sarcoma

Metastatic tumors

Changes from prior versions

Modifications to the Gleason grading system were incorporated into the new version among those:

  • cribriform glands and glomeruloid glands should be graded as Gleason 4

  • grading of mucinous carcinoma of the prostate should be according to the growth pattern

New entities and variants

Newly introduced entities include:

Newly introduced variants include:

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.