WHO criteria in tumor response

Last revised by Daniel J Bell on 1 Oct 2019

The WHO criteria were developed in the 1980s under the auspices of the World Health Organization (WHO) to standardize reporting of cancers in clinical trials.​ Nowadays, newer criteria often based on the WHO criteria (such as RECIST, mRECIST, Choi criteria, Lugano response criteria), have widely replaced the WHO criteria in clinical practice 1.

  • no lesions detected for ≥ 4 weeks 

  • ≥ 50% decrease in sum of the products of diameters
    • confirmed at ≥ 4 weeks
  • ≥25% increase in products of diameters in one or more lesions
  • new lesions
  • none of the above

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.