Occipital bone ossification centers

Case contributed by Dr Bruno Di Muzio


The occipital bone has complex development, it ossifies from six centers.


Case Discussion

The six centers that we can see on diagram are:

  1. - Basioccipital bone;
  2. - Exooccipital bone (two centers);
  3. - Supraoccipital bone;
  4. - Interparietal bone (two centers).

See more on article about acessory occipital bone sutures.

PlayAdd to Share

Case information

rID: 13602
Case created: 25th Apr 2011
Last edited: 1st Sep 2015
System: Paediatrics
Inclusion in quiz mode: Excluded

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.