Occipital bone ossification centres

Case contributed by Dr Bruno Di Muzio


The occipital bone has complex development, it ossifies from six different centres.


Diagram adapted from Grey's Anatomy - Public Domain

Case Discussion

The six centres that we can see in the diagram are:

  1. - basioccipital bone
  2. - exoccipital bone (two centres)
  3. - supraoccipital bone
  4. - interparietal bone (two centres)

See more on the article about accessory occipital bone sutures.

PlayAdd to Share

Case information

rID: 13602
Published: 25th Apr 2011
Last edited: 6th May 2018
System: Paediatrics
Inclusion in quiz mode: Excluded

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.