Modality: Diagram

Used in the following article:

  • Oesophageal hiatus - “ The oesophageal hiatus is the opening in the diaphragm through which the oesophagus passes from the thoracic to abdominal cavity. It is one of thr...”
  • Diaphragm - “ The diaphragm is the dome-shaped muscle that separates the thoracic cavity from the abdominal cavity, enclosing the inferior thoracic aperture. G...”
  • Diaphragmatic apertures - “ The diaphragmatic apertures are a series of apertures that permit the passage of structures between the thoracic and abdominal cavities. There are...”
  • Aortic hiatus - “ The aortic hiatus is one the three major apertures through the diaphragm and lies at the level of T12. Strictly speaking, it is not a real apertur...”
  • Vena caval foramen - “ The vena caval foramen is one of the three major apertures in the diaphragm. It is the highest of the three and situated at the level of T8-9. It ...”
  • Diaphragmatic hernia - “ Diaphragmatic hernias are defined as either congenital or acquired defects in the diaphragm. Demographics and aetiology Congenital There are tw...”
  • Morgagni hernia - “ Morgagni hernias are one of the congenital diaphragmatic hernias (CDH), and is characterised by herniation through the foramen of Morgagni. When c...”
  • Lesser diaphragmatic apertures - “ The lesser diaphragmatic apertures allow the passage of smaller structures from the thoracic cavity to abdominal cavity across the diaphragm. They...”
  • Foramen of Morgagni - “ The foramina of Morgagni, also known as the sternocostal triangles, are small defects in the posterior aspect of the anterior thoracic wall betwee...”

View full size version of Diaphragm (under-surface)

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.