Revision 14 for 'Bouthillier classification of internal carotid artery segments'

All Revisions

Bouthillier classification of ICA segments

Bouthillier et al described (in 19961) a seven segment internal carotid artery (ICA) classification system. It remains the most widely used system for describing ICA segments at the time of writing (mid 2016).

There are few others classifications systems including proposed by Fisher (1938), Gibo (1981), and Lasjaunias (19842). 

A helpful mnemonic for remembering ICA segments is: 

  • C'mon Please Learn Carotid Clinical Organizing Classification
  1. cervical segment
  2. petrous segment
  3. lacerum segment
  4. cavernous segment
  5. clinoid segment
  6. ophthalmic (supraclinoid) segment
  7. communicating (terminal) segment


Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.