Nasal cartilages

Last revised by Craig Hacking on 3 May 2023

The nasal cartilages make up the skeleton of the external nose, along with the nasal bones, maxilla, frontal bone and bony nasal septum. They are formed from hyaline cartilage and responsible for maintaining the shape of the flexible part of the external nose and vestibule and consist of five named cartilages:

  1. two lateral (or upper) cartilages

  2. two alar (greater or lower) cartilages

  3. a single midline septal cartilage which contributes to the nasal septum

Related pathology

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.