Osteochondritis dissecans (surgical staging)

Dr Jeremy Jones and A.Prof Frank Gaillard et al.

Osteochondritis dissecans can be classified at surgery into 4 stages:

  • stage I
    • stable
    • lesion in continuity with the host bone
    • covered by intact cartilage
  • stage II
    • stable on probing
    • partial discontinuity of the lesion from the host bone
  • stage III
    • unstable on probing
    • fragment not dislocated
    • complete discontinuity of the "dead in situ" lesion
  • stage IV
    • dislocated fragment

Classification according to International Cartilage Repair Society.

Of course distinguishing stage II from III can be difficult on MRI.

See also

Share article

Article information

rID: 7556
Tag: knee
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.