Quadrigeminal cistern

Dr Craig Hacking and Dr Jeremy Jones et al.

The quadrigeminal cistern (also known as superior cistern or cistern of the great cerebral vein) is one of the CSF-filled subarachnoid cisterns.

It is located between the colliculi, the splenium of the corpus callosum and the superior surface of the cerebellum and extends from the third ventricle to the great cerebral vein.

It contains several vessels and nerves:

Related pathology
Anatomy: Brain
Share article

Article information

rID: 5862
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Quadrigeminal cisterns
  • Superior cistern
  • Cistern of the great cerebral vein

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Drag
    Case 1: subarachnoid cistern
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Drag
    Case 2: cisterns and CSF flow
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.