St. Anne-Mayo grading system of astrocytomas

A.Prof Frank Gaillard et al.

The St. Anne-Mayo grading system, also known as the Daumas-Duport grading system, introduced in 1988 was for a time a popular system for grading diffuse astrocytomas but has now largely been replaced by the WHO grading system which is, however, derived from the St Anne-Mayo system and thus shares many similarities 1-3

The St. Anne-Mayo grading system is a 4 tiered system and uses the presence of 4 morphologic criteria to assign a grade: 

  1. nuclear atypia
  2. mitosis
  3. endothelial proliferation - 'piled-up' endothelial cells. NOT hypervascularity
  4. necrosis

The grade then depends on the accumulation of these criteria as follows: 

  • grade 1: 0 criteria
  • grade 2: 1 criterion (usually nuclear atypia)
  • grade 3: 2 criteria (usually nuclear atypia and mitosis)
  • grade 4: 3 or 4 criteria

Note that unlike the WHO classification, Roman numerals are NOT usually used. 

History and etymology 

Named after Catherine Daumas-Duport, a French pathologist 2 from Sainte Anne hospital who also worked together with the Mayo-Clinic in the United States 4.

Astrocytic tumour
Share article

Article information

rID: 23704
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Dumas-Duport grading system of astrocytomas
  • Dumas-Duport astrocytoma grading sustem
  • St. Anne-Mayo astrocytoma grading system

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.