FIGO staging system

The FIGO staging system are determined by the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (Fédération Internationale de Gynécologie et d’Obstétrique).

In general, there are 5 stages:

  • stage 0: carcinoma in situ (common in cervical, vaginal, and vulval cancer)
  • stage I: confined to the organ of origin
  • stage II: invasion of surrounding organs or tissue
  • stage III: spread to distant nodes or tissue within the pelvis
  • stage IV: distant metastasis(es)

See also

Edit Article Share Article

Article Information

rID: 9052
Systems: Gynaecology, Oncology
Section: Staging
Tags: cancer, oncology, refs
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • FIGO
  • Fédération Internationale de Gynécologie et d’Obstétrique (FIGO)
  • Fédération Internationale de Gynécologie et d’Obstétrique

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.