Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma

Last revised by Henry Knipe on 15 Dec 2022

Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) is the most common subtype of non-Hodgkin lymphoma.



Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma is sometimes associated with immunodeficiency, including acquired immunodeficiency syndrome.



In the 2016 WHO classification of lymphoid neoplasms, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified (NOS), is a type of mature B-cell neoplasm and includes two molecular subgroups indicating the cell of origin:

  • germinal center B-cell type
  • activated B-cell type

In addition, diffuse large B-cell lymphomas with certain molecular/cytogenetic features, previously called "double-hit" or "triple-hit" lymphomas, as well as those resembling Burkitt lymphoma are now classified together as either of the following entities 1:

There are otherwise multiple specified types of diffuse large B-cell lymphomas:


See the article on lymphoma staging.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.