Gastric lymph node stations

Last revised by Andrea Molinari on 26 Apr 2024

The gastric lymph node stations were originally divided into 16 groups, as proposed by the Japanese Research Society for Gastric Cancer in 1973.

Gross anatomy

There are three major groups of lymph drainage from the stomach, namely, left gastric, gastroepiploic, and pyloric nodes 4, as shown in the following:

  • cardia and proximal lesser curvature drain into left gastric lymph nodes, then into celiac nodes 4

  • pylorus and distal lesser curvature drain into the right gastric lymph nodes

  • proximal part of greater curvature drains into the pancreaticosplenic nodes in the splenic hilum 4

  • distal part of greater curvature drains into the right gastroepiploic nodes and the pyloric nodes at the head of the pancreas 4

  1. right cardia lymph nodes

  2. left cardia lymph nodes

  3. lymph nodes along the lesser curvature

  4. lymph nodes along the greater curvature

  5. suprapyloric group of lymph nodes or nodes along the right gastric artery

  6. infrapyloric groups of lymph nodes

  7. lymph nodes along the left gastric artery

  8. lymph nodes along the common hepatic artery

  9. lymph nodes around the celiac artery

  10. lymph nodes at the splenic hilum

  11. lymph nodes along the splenic artery

  12. lymph nodes in the hepatoduodenal ligament

  13. lymph nodes behind the pancreatic head

  14. lymph nodes at the root of the mesentery or the superior mesenteric artery (SMA)

  15. lymph nodes along the middle colic artery

  16. para-aortic group of lymph nodes

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.