Nasal cartilages

The nasal cartilages make up the skeleton of the external nose, along with the nasal bones, maxilla, frontal bone and bony nasal septum. They are hyaline cartilage responsible for maintaining the shape of the flexible part of the external nose and the vestibule and consists of five cartilages:

  1. two lateral (or upper) cartilages
  2. two alar (greater or lower) cartilages
  3. a single midline septal cartilage which contributes to the nasal septum

Related pathology

Anatomy: Head and neck

Anatomy: Head and neck

Article information

rID: 66800
System: Head & Neck
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Nasal cartilage

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.