Bouthillier classification of internal carotid artery segments

Bouthillier et al. described (in 1996) 1 a seven segment internal carotid artery (ICA) classification system. It remains the most widely used system for describing ICA segments at the time of writing (mid-2016).

There are a few other classifications systems including those proposed by Fisher (1938), Gibo (1981), and Lasjaunias (1984) 2.

A helpful mnemonic for remembering ICA segments is: 

  • C'mon Please Learn Carotid Clinical Organizing Classification
  1. cervical segment
  2. petrous segment
  3. lacerum segment
  4. cavernous segment
  5. clinoid segment
  6. ophthalmic (supraclinoid) segment
  7. communicating (terminal) segment
Anatomy: Brain

Anatomy: Brain

Anatomy: Head and neck

Anatomy: Head and neck

Article information

rID: 4714
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Bouthillier classification of ICA segments

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: DSA
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2: CTA reformats
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.