Quadrigeminal cistern

Last revised by Raymond Chieng on 4 Jun 2023

The quadrigeminal cistern (also known as superior cistern or cistern of the great cerebral vein) is one of the CSF-filled subarachnoid cisterns.


The boundaries of the quadrigeminal cistern are as follows 2:

  • anterior: quadrigeminal plate of the midbrain (or colliculi)

  • posterior: the meeting point of tentorium cerebelli and falx cerebri

  • superior: splenium of the corpus callosum

  • inferior: vermis of cerebellum

The quadrigeminal cistern is continuous with the following cisterns 3:

  • ambient cistern

  • retrothalamic cistern (around the pulvinar of the thalamus)

  • superior cerebellar cistern (above the vermis of the cerebellum)

The quadrigeminal cistern extends from the third ventricle to the great cerebral vein.


It contains several vessels and nerves:

Related pathology

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Case 1 axial: labeled 49
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1 sagittal: labeled 59
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1 coronal: labeled 74
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.